21
Sep
07

10 more minutes to wait…

I looked at the watch and it showed that there was another hour and a half left in the Iftari. It was my schools friend engagement cum Iftar party and I was sitting in her TV lounge along with some old friends. I needed anything to keep my mind off the food and who else can help me then my good old pal the Television 🙂

 

It was Alim Online that was on GEO TV, some people believe that it’s a religious program but I differ. As customary the host Amir Liaqat  was wearing some visible make up on his face along with some talent less designer shalwar qameez.

 

aMmAr: Is that a see through qameez this sham is wearing?

 

Fahad: Heh. Yeah!

 

aMmAr: Horrible dress mate 😛 with all the golden flowers on the qameez. Even some one like Reema (Pakistani actress) won’t wear something this awful.

 

Fahad: Heh. Yeah!

 

aMmAr: what is that black thing inside that qameez?

 

Danish: Looks like a men’s bra to me. Lolz 😀

 

Fahad: ROFL! Yeah! 😀

 

Zubair: Bra or Bro. Lolz 😀 😀

 

aMmAr: Ok enough! Roza hai yar (we are fasting guys). Change the channel, in fact give me that thing (remote control).

 

I started surfing through the channels. Switching from one Pakistani channel to another, every channel was screening some damn cooking show. I tapped my wrist watch twice but the time was not speeding up at all. Another hour to go and I was starving to death.

 

aMmAr: can we watch some music channel.

 

Danish: No! whats wrong with the cooking shows.

 

aMmAr: I want to take my mind off the food.

 

Zubair: Can’t you control your self?

 

aMmAr: Hmmm.. No

 

Where ever I stopped the channel was showing women dancing. The adds, music vdos, films, soaps, even the T-20 match. Of course there is nothing wrong in that. I mean I don’t have any problem.

 

aMmAr: guys I wonder are the spectators there to watch the dancing ladies or the match.

 

Fahad: Depends, if the spectators are Pakistanis then surely not the match.

 

After an hour came the occasion we all, especially I was waiting for. The iftaaaaaaar!! Man I am hungry or what I told myself.

 

After saying the prayer everyone started eating and drinking the delicious items on the menu. Except me;

 

Sweet Aunty: Beta eat something

 

aMmAr: Yes aunty I will don’t worry.

 

Sweet Aunty: you aren’t even touching the food items. You aren’t shy or are you?

 

aMmAr: Shy!? No way I am just waiting…

 

Sweet Aunty: waiting? For what?

 

By now I noticed most of the guests were wondering the same; why wasn’t I eating anything likes the rest. I decided to come out of the closet and tell them what they might not enjoy listening.

 

aMmAr: Aunty I am Shia. It’s not my time yet 🙂 I have to wait another10 mins or more.

 

As soon as I completed my sentence the whole hall was wrapped into pin drop silence. Some open jaws were lying all over the floor. To be exact every one was looking at me. For those who missed the big news were asking others and making weird noises after learning about the new revelation.

 

Sweet Aunty: No problem beta, but don’t you forget to eat okay.

 

aMmAr: sure thing aunty 🙂

 

I find the whole incident quite funny when I think about it. I don’t know if anyone will find this incident equally interesting but those who can relate to me will and have a bunch of their own interesting iftaar tales to tell.

13 Responses to “10 more minutes to wait…”


  1. September 21, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    This happens to me too when I goes for aftaar party with my frnds. One of my frnd ask me ” Yarr yeah shia itnae kaam kyon hote hayen ? ” and I didn’t answer instead I start counting all the bomb blasts and target killing.

  2. 2 becca
    September 22, 2007 at 9:39 am

    its not da first time dear u had dis experience before aswell ;p lolz i guess u shd get use to such comments ppl dnt have any knowledge thy just make wired faces !!

  3. 3 becca
    September 22, 2007 at 9:44 am

    its not da first time dear u had dis experience before aswell ;p lolz i guess u shd get use to such comments ppl dnt have any knowledge thy just make wired faces !!

  4. September 22, 2007 at 11:08 am

    Lolz… Dont remind me… 😉
    “hum bhi thorra thorra shia hota hae……”

  5. September 22, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    Do you fast for all the 30 days?

  6. September 22, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    I am tempted to make a really racist comment here, but what the hell. I must not sin. Must be your lucky day, mate.

  7. 7 Ahsan Zawar
    September 23, 2007 at 5:05 am

    Good post man…

    Who can relate this more than me…Once i was at my friend’s place and the and iftar hooter started…everyone started eating…as most of my friend’s know that it wasn’t my time so they said nothing…But her Daadi(grandmother), beta khao warna makro(u will loose the essence of roza if u dont do it now) , i said i cant warna toot jaye ga(if i eat my fasting will break before time)…Nahe khao makro hojata hai…nahee kah sakta toot jata hai…this thing i think went for 5 mins till her mother intervened and got daadi to relaxed…Everyone was laughing….. I guess Itehad-e Benal Musalmeen is not a bad idea…bring them 5 mins late and bring ourselves 5 mins earlier…

  8. September 23, 2007 at 2:42 pm

    1) Hassan shias are few in number because we believe in family planning 😛 😀

    2) Beeca welcome back to ronin 🙂

    dear if you remain related to me this might happen to u as well

    3)Simz 😀 that was so funny bro

    4) Prerna; Yes by the grace of ALLAH 🙂

    5) Ayaz; thank you 🙂

    6) heh. i am sure we can agree on dat proposal

  9. September 24, 2007 at 10:02 am

    ” Hassan shias are few in number because we believe in family planning “……

    is it so or my reason is valid ??

  10. October 1, 2007 at 7:46 pm

    @Ammar:

    Hmm… Interesting post….

    BTW, 10 minutes gap? But why? …. If you dont mind telling this, then go ahead.

  11. October 1, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Welcome back Omi 🙂

    Actually the time for both Maghrib and Fajr prayers are decided after some calculations.The shia priests decides magrib timing on the basis when its dark enough; ” that if a man is unable to see the hairs on his forearm under the sky”. That was the example that my father gave to me 😛

    But personally I dont find the gap a big deal and totally agree with AHSAN’s suggestion.

  12. October 2, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Thanks for the Information 🙂

    Yes, I am back.

  13. March 17, 2011 at 10:34 am

    Падшие женщины Украины – одна из многолетних профессий. Интерес на путан – имеется, и достаточно не малый.


Leave a Reply

R O N I N

A web-blog by another wanna be writer who thinks he can write

Popularity Stats

  • 48,007 hitzzz
September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
hit counter

