16
Feb
08

Election Campaign 2008; Twist and Shout!!

As the day of elections is getting nearer the sound of the songs of political parties are getting louder and louder and louder. You walk out of your house and you will find young men shaking their thing not on the dance floor but on the main road 😛 Party workers find the songs and dances important, some people find it funny and normal people like me find it weird.

 

Today I would like to talk about the top songs that have (not) moved the nation off their feet and urged them to dance their breath out 😛

 

Topping the charts is the song that I have learned by heart like all the other Karachiites. Its;

1) Muzlomo ka Saaathi by MQM;

 

Its not that I love the song, or lyrics or the fact that the melodious music made me learn it by heart. But the place I use to live for the past 3 elections and the place where I am living right now is accidentally near the election office of MQM. The song starts with the word which suggests us of a certain product which should not be named in public for some reason. No wonder both our population and patients of AIDS are increasing with every minute. But it’s the most popular song of all election time. It’s like Dil Dil Pakistan of elections.

 

2) Jiye Bhutto benazir by PPPP;

Now this song makes you dance, the makrani ishtyle. You know what I am talking about right 😉 Yes it’s second on our charts and it rocks. When the late Bhutto was returning from exile and her party workers were all jubilant on her return. I saw a group of 20 odd dancing on main Shah rah –e- Faisal, one of the busiest roads of Karachi city. I dunno about any of you guys but right now I am dancing on this number; the makrani ishtyleeee 😉

3) Shair( Lion) Hamaraa by PML-N

 

By ‘Share’ the poet meant the lion, and not the stock exchange’s share market 😛 Now this song is brand new in comparison to the top 2 songs. But I like the song, especially the ‘aaaaaaaaaaah……aaaaahhhh..aaaaaaaahhhhhh’ in the background. You cant dance on this song though, but it makes you all ready to vote for the guy in the toupee (ie Nawaz and Shahbaz) 😀

 

4) Chacha wardi landaa kyun nahee byMusharraf

 

Uncle why don’t you take your uniform off!! This is a promotional song by Musharraf’s well-wishers. The title suggests other wise but don’t concentrate on the lyrics, images, video, or the fact that he was ill-leagally elected in uniform or what mess the country is in today thanks to Chacha Musharraf. Please ignore all the opposition propaganda; eat your chicken and drink your cold beer.

 

And you thought I didn’t get songs for PML-Q and MMA, think again. Just because they have little or no public support it doesn’t mean they don’t have the right to campaign and make songs.


 

Have a lovely election season. Those who don’t know how to dance tap their fingers and jump on one foot. Those who don’t have roti, can eat bread instead. Those who don’t have electricity can borrow it from China. This last video is rated and contains strong words and abuses. Watch at your own risk.

28 Responses to “Election Campaign 2008; Twist and Shout!!”


  1. February 17, 2008 at 10:36 am

    hahha vry well written sathee is my all tym favourite political song mqm ‘s another song is getiin vry popular sung by shazia khush in makrani ishyle AY MQM JEETAY. IT IS MORE HIP THN THE BENAZIR ONE WO SUNG K ZAIDA DANCE KERNAY KA MAN HOTA HA LOLZ WELL IV NOT HEARD THE CHACHA SONG SO CNT COMMENT ON DAT BUT I WUID RECOMEND THE SHAZIA KHUSH SONG BOHAT MAZII AYII GEE SUN KER BELEIVE ME THE BEAT OF THE DRUM AND MAKRANI MUSIC IS AMAZING I REALLY FEEL LYK DANCE N WATCHIN THE GUYS DANCE IN APT AMP IS EVN MORE ENTERTAINING. HAPPY ELECTIONS,YASIR

  2. 2 Ahsan Zawar
    February 17, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    man…u got to be kidding me that u like ‘sher humhara song’..its sux…the video sux even more …I think he resembles more to a Hippopotamus than to a lion 😀

  3. 3 fuzedbulb
    February 17, 2008 at 2:19 pm

    hahahaha… last video is classic!!! let’s create a re-mix and pick wordings from the last one!! 😉 HHAhahaha hahah..

  4. February 17, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    @ beeca

    thanks for ur comments 🙂

    @Ahsan

    😀 c’mon dude, We need that guy for another term 😛 !! i miss all the halwa poori stuff, not to forget the cricket matches he played on holidays..

    @sim

    haha 😀 bring it on bro!

  5. February 17, 2008 at 9:52 pm

    My vote goes with the baba jee in the last video..
    m ashamed at what truth he is saying , a real awful truth i should say….
    hats off to that Makrani Ishtyle Design 😛

  6. February 18, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Times have changed!In the good old times there used to be slogans like- “gali gali main shor hai,—— chor hai.Fill in the name of the leader you dislike in the blank.

  7. February 18, 2008 at 6:36 am

    @Ammar:

    Dude, you made my day, at least I got something related to elections to do today 😛 . I have been listening part of these songs on the road, Now I can listen all at my home 😛

    I can’t vote here in Karachi and I am not in my hometown to do this honor full act 🙂 but again, Its good to enjoy one day at home. Lets pray, we get only this day off and peace remains all around.

  8. 8 annie
    February 18, 2008 at 5:05 pm

    gud 1 ammar…u shud hav been appointed as a marketing head by the election commision ..dis album wud hav been named..ummm “THE GABBARS OF PAKISTAN-1947-2008″…LOL cudnt come up wid a creative title.lol..ur task:P….the last 1 is aaa..very gud…add sum muziq to it ..it will take lead da charts…besides all..our quaid rules da charts…. “lol.video graphics check keren zara..”;)

  9. February 19, 2008 at 9:49 am

    Nikki,
    couldnt agree more to yo gurl. the true voice of the Pakistani Awam.

    @Pr3rna
    You know my dad told me the same thing, it was either murdabaad zindabaad culture in the 70’s or b4. But ZA Bhutto changed the dynamics of Pakistani politics and now every politician has to follow his election strategy to succeed.

    @ Om
    im glad man! where in Sindh is your home town?

    @ annie

    Your Quaid annie 😛 I just give khaal n vote to them 😉

  10. February 19, 2008 at 11:51 am

    do u think musharaff will actually walk out?

  11. 11 supersizeme
    February 19, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    Shaikh Rasheed.. Khu**ra B*! Hahahaha..i totally knew that!! Yaaayy!!

    Uuurgh.. they dont even have Altaf Hussein in that oh so cheesy and disastrous vid, such barefaced lies! So glad he didnt get so many votes.. Nawaz Sharif’s and Bhutto’s were danceable songs, and the last 3 vids were hilarious!!!

  12. February 20, 2008 at 9:02 am

    @ Ankur

    No! he wont. kuch logo ko izzat pyaari nahee hoti 😛

    @Supersizme

    😀 whats your hometown ??

  13. 13 supersizeme
    February 20, 2008 at 12:38 pm

    Haha.. Ammar, I’m Azad Kashmiri originally.. how ironic, but we have lots of family in Isb/Pindi, and my family’s pretty into Pak siyasat, and well Nawaz Sharif was my dad’s firm fave, my mum likes Imran Khan (good job he wasnt in these elections.. hes not ready!) and there are many Bhutto supporters in my family, one of my uncles was her right hand man, when she was in London.. its pretty much a mixed bag really.

  14. 14 supersizeme
    February 20, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    By ironic, I mean, I should be indifferent to it, as we have out own govt. in Mzf, though it works directly with the Pak govt.

    and we’re all a bunch of armchair spectators! Haha!

  15. February 20, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Kashmiri?! that explains your love for Sheikh Rasheed 😛

  16. February 20, 2008 at 1:49 pm

    Someday called out Imran Khan 😛 Man i really dont get this man’s psyche 😉 I find him finding his brain somewhere 😛 Ok so tht was a joke bt the tables are tossed in Elections 08′ lets see when will the table be arranged again. In the Parliaments i suppose 😉

  17. February 20, 2008 at 4:33 pm

    Same question:

    whats your hometown ?? 🙂

  18. February 20, 2008 at 5:20 pm

    @ Ammar:

    Its “Ghotki” where PPP couldn’t win.

  19. February 20, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Kashmiri, but then they migrated to Amritsar then to Peshawar and then to Khi so i dont really know where to start 😐

    n if ur gonna pick me up on liking Sheikh Rasheed or any other idiotic Politician then Mr. mai pehly sy he warning day rahe hun haan…

    U dont wanna hear any baba jee talk over here so be careful OK! 😛

  20. February 21, 2008 at 8:32 am

    Your’e a Karachiite then 😉

    *then Mr. mai pehly sy he warning day rahe hun haan* Dhamki 😛 lolz 😀

    Is saadgi pai kaun na mar jaye ae khuda…

    Lartey hain aur haath mai talwaar bhi nahee 😛

  21. February 21, 2008 at 1:23 pm

    Nice Shair btw 😛
    and i prefer Kashmiri over Karachite myself 😛

  22. February 21, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Democracy comes to Pakistan — yaaay! Just kidding. I think right now people just want stability.

  23. February 21, 2008 at 5:08 pm

    @ Nikki

    Why?

    @ Aliana

    Democracy is the key to long term stability

  24. February 21, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    I just love that place..
    and Khi used to be a great place too, bt horrible Idiot Men have ruined our country 😦

  25. 26 Amrita
    February 22, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Hahahaha! I love these things! Dont their rivals make spoofs of these?

  26. 27 supersizeme
    February 22, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    Nikki, which part of Kashmir do you originate from?
    Whenever I’m in AK, and speak to the muhajirs from Jammu they always tell horror stories of it, ie, the ongoing war, but I’ve heard its very beautiful, sadly whenever I see it on tv its always looking underkept and depressingly grey, looks pretty grim, but I’m sure its far from that?

    Azad Kashmir is beautiful too, espesh the regions I live in and the places I’ve visited, the problem is its desserted! Im going again in April and I can guarantee I’ll get extremely bored, I always dream of visiting Khi, i’m fascinated by it, always have been, so can we swap???

  27. February 22, 2008 at 10:48 pm

    @ Amrita

    I am glad 😀 you do!

    Not rivals really?? but ppl with a better sense of humor neva miss any chance 😉

    @ nikki

    I am sure horrible idiot women 😛 played their role as well! But i still love it 😉


Leave a Reply

R O N I N

A web-blog by another wanna be writer who thinks he can write

Popularity Stats

  • 48,176 hitzzz
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
hit counter

