23
Feb
08

Lets talk about good Music

 

edmusic07.jpg

 

Bored of Election coverage and who will become the NeXt Prime Minister chat? Do your girl friend bugs you with the same [Do I look fat to you?] question over and over again and you can’t tell the truth? Does your mum don’t put right quantity of salt in your salun or your office’s cabin mate find it okay to pick nose in front of you. If all these or some of these problems are troubling you and you just want to get all relaxed this weekend, then not to worry because Master Ronin [ie me 😉 ] have some quality muzik for ya 🙂

 

And I aint just talking about wanna be singers like Besura Himesh, Mela Atif Aslam or Chicken Ali Zafar 😛 I am talking about class, sur and sangeet all combined in one man; whose voice is legendary and whose name is known to everyone who loves muzik; yep I am talking about Muhammed Rafi, the most popular playback singer in the subcontinent.

 

Here are my favorite five, you can thank me in the comment section 😛

 

 

1) Tum Jo milgaye ho:

Madan Mohans melody and Rafi’s mesmerizing voice makes you do things that only loverz do 😉 and I mean in a good romantic sense 😛 As far as the video goes, we see a good looking, clean shaven taxi driver who’s more interested in sneaking at the female passenger in the back. Not quite possible to remain in their good moods while driving in todays busy roads. My message to all the lovers out there; don’t try this on road 😛

 

 

 

 

2) Chalkaye Jaam:

There is this association of Urdu poetry with the bartender (saqi), glasses filled whith wine (Jaam not Jam Jelly) and booze. Despite the fact that alcohol is prohibited in the religion, Muslim poets are found guilty of using these terms again and again and again 😛

 

 

Why? I’ll ask chacha Ghalib in the after life. Watch this video, needless to say that how much I adoreeeeeeeeee this song, lyrics and muzikaaa. Horrible video though 😛

 

 

 

 

3) Likhey Jo khat Tuje:

Wah! What a beautifoooooooool concept 🙂 At this age of internet lovers don’t write letters though sms’s and emails are doing the trick. And it aint romantic whining about it 😛 The video is comparatively good. It features my favorite Kapoor; Shashi. No I wasn’t talking about Kareeena 😛

 

 

 

 

4) Chand Mera Dil

Yes the moon is another term which is dragged in the urdu poetry. The moon has always been compared from the heroin. I wonder if Mr.Moon or Chanda Mamoo knew what are they doing with his name and fame. His response might be;

 

 

‘Big deal if I have a black mark on my face and your slutty gurl friend is all perfect. Get ova it 😛 and go f*ck urself :P’

 

 

This video is the best of all others on this post. RD BURMAN immortal music and great voice of you know who 😉

 

 

5) Gulabi Ankhein:

The most romantic song of all times 🙂

Back in the 60’s there were no dance moves or discos. So the couples were left unguarded [no maali/gardener] in these public parks. I guess they didn’t know how to make out despite all the privacy so all they thought of doing was jumping, running and rolling on the ground for no reason.

 

15 Responses to “Lets talk about good Music”


  1. February 24, 2008 at 4:44 am

    Cool…I was just listening to Rafi, Asha & Lata duets….infact few old Pakistani songs of Rushdi..and songs of Mohammad Ali..that is music!
    Good one Ammar..! By the way I have none of the mentioned problems but I still listen because I love urdu /Hindi music, I mean the music…not noisy ‘dub kharrabba’. 😀

  2. February 24, 2008 at 10:28 am

    I never came across Pakistani singers. Nowadays i listen to Arabic songs. 🙂

  3. February 24, 2008 at 10:59 am

    wen it comes to subcontienent’s music we share more or less the same tatse rite?? well mohammad rafi’s songs are classics and my favourite and not to forget kishore his songs are close to my heart as well ik rafi ka song bohat acha ha “awaz me na doonga” it starts like “chah honga me tume saand saweray :awaz me na doonga” i guess u have heard it?? if not thn do hear it n leme kno ul love it m sure..

  4. 4 supersizeme
    February 25, 2008 at 11:12 am

    Oh yaaayy..
    I’m glad I’ve found more old songs fans, I felt like I was the only young person on earth listening to the stuff (apart from all the mums, dads, maasi, thaii’s)
    I’m in love with old filmi ghazal slowwies by Mehdi Hasan and Naseem Begum, so so so heartbreakingly beautiful.

  5. 5 supersizeme
    February 25, 2008 at 11:15 am

    Rafi’s good too, havent heard his songs for ages, everytime I do a search I only find the 70’s kishore-esque style which I absolutely detest, no offence but the 70’s era doesnt have the magic as say the 50’s and 60’s, I like his songs from Kashmir Ki Kali and a couple of black and white films.

  6. February 25, 2008 at 11:27 am

    HAVE U HEARD “DEEWANA HUA PAGAL” ITS ANOTHER BFUL SONG WCH WILL MAKE U FALL IN LOVE AGAIN TRUST ME.

  7. 7 supersizeme
    February 25, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Deewana huwa badal? yes, its lovely, but from that movie isharon isharon mein is more beautiful, the duet! Waah! Kya baat hai uss zamaney ki!

  8. February 25, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    @ zios

    hmmm… we all love good muzik 🙂

    @ Shahrzad

    Too bad, music of both India and Pakistan is better then any other muzik in the world. By the way i was introduced to Iranian singer/musician/lyricist Najmoo and found him pretty kewl 😉

    @beeca

    im glad that we share similar tastes… have a nice day 🙂

    @superizme

    Its nice to know about your good muzik taste 😉

    I find Kishore and RD Burman era better though 😛

  9. 9 supersizeme
    February 25, 2008 at 4:46 pm

    Shehrzad, Googoosh is Iranian and shes a legend.. what an amazing voice and a very graceful beautiful woman!
    Have you never heard of Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan even?

    Thanks Ammar, yeah people love Kishore Kumar, I dont understand why, but hey we should celebrate individual tastes, but it’d be nice to meet someone MY AGE who shares a love for Mehdi Hasan! 🙂

  10. February 25, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    My taste for musics differs time to time. My taste is very classic, also i like some songs by Googoosh, some by Hayedeh, Sima Bina, Simin Ghanem, Gol Naraqi etc
    Really never came across Pakistani/Indian. I hv to go for it BTW.
    I download songs here: http://www.sarzamin.org
    In this site you all can find the latest Persian/Turkish/Arabic/English etc music.
    They dont have a section for Pak/Indo music. You can ask them do add.

  11. 11 Amrita
    February 26, 2008 at 4:09 am

    Ammar – I love those songs! But for Rafi, I prefer his sad songs. He’s the only singer who could make me cry. For Kishore, I like his romantic songs better.

  12. February 26, 2008 at 10:02 am

    Hey Amrita 🙂

    Kishore is on the top of my list. He can make me cry laugh love dance. You name it. But as for Rafi; I like his romantic numbers better.

  13. 13 lubna
    February 26, 2008 at 10:13 am

    Tum jo mil gayae..ahh,,my absolute favorite!
    Lovely collection Ammar 🙂

  14. February 26, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    Fab songs! Love golden oldies! will come in handy to play for the wedding 😀

  15. February 27, 2008 at 4:43 am

    @lubz

    at ur service madame 😉

    @ Sumera

    These are romantic song Sumera 😉 they only come handy before and few months after the wedding, not more 😛


Leave a Reply

R O N I N

A web-blog by another wanna be writer who thinks he can write

Popularity Stats

  • 48,176 hitzzz
February 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526272829  
hit counter

